Brecon Cathedral started life in 1093 as the Benedictine Priory of St John the Evangelist, built by the Normans on the site of an earlier Celtic church. At the dissolution of the monasteries in 1537 it became Brecon's Parish Church. It became a Cathedral only in 1923, on the establishment of the Diocese of Swansea and Brecon.
The Cathedral is at the heart of a Diocese which stretches from Beguildy in the North to the Gower Peninsula in the South, including the City of Swansea and most of the Brecon Beacons National Park.
The Cathedral Office
The Cathedral Close
The Cathedral is the Mother Church of the Diocese and offers a ministry of worship and welcome to all who visit. Although a building of relatively modest proportions, the Cathedral is set in a walled Close, unique in Wales. The remains of the former monastic buildings today provide the administrative centre for the Diocese as well as housing for the Cathedral clergy and a Heritage Centre and Restaurant. This remarkable collection of buildings is the finest of its kind in Wales.